General Shareholders’ Meeting

EPV Energy Ltd’s highest authority is vested in the General Shareholders’ Meeting, which elects the Board and makes decisions in statutory issues, as well as in other issues specifically defined in the Articles of Association. In 2016, the General Shareholders’ Meeting was assembled two times.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the company’s administration and for organising the company’s operation according to the law, Articles of Association and the decisions of the General Shareholders’ Meeting. The Board also supervises the company’s operation and administration and makes decisions on company strategy, operational policy, significant investments and financing. The Board is elected for one year at a time in an Ordinary General Meeting. The Board has 10–12 ordinary members and five deputy members. The deputy members have the right to attend General Meetings. The Chairman of the Board is nominated by the biggest shareholder. The Vice Chairman is nominated by the Board.

Ordinary Members of the Board:

  • Olli Arola, Director
  • Miapetra Kumpula-Natri, Member of the European Parliament (Chairman of the Board)
  • Ahti Källi, CEO
  • Hannu Linna, CEO
  • Pekka Manninen, CEO
  • Jorma Rasinmäki, Mayor
  • Anders Renvall, CEO
  • Eero Seesvaara, CEO (Vice Chairman of the Board)
  • Joakim Strand, Member of the Parliament
  • Markku Vartia, Director

Deputy Members of the Board:

  • Martti Haapamäki, CEO
  • Juha Häkkinen, CEO
  • Andreas Rasmus, Production Manager
  • Ari Saukkonen, CEO
  • Jukka Ylitalo, CEO

CEO and Management Team

The company’s CEO is Rami Vuola (MSc) and his Deputy CEO is Director of Finance Markku Källström (MSc Economics and Engineer). The Management Team also includes the following members:

  • Sami Kuitunen (MSc)
  • Frans Liski (MSc)
  • Reima Neva (MSc)
  • Niko Paaso (MSc)
  • Mats Söderlund (MSc)

Subsidiary management

The subsidiaries and partnership companies belonging to the EPV Energy Ltd Group have their own administrative bodies, in the management and supervision of which EPV actively participates.


The audit firm Ernst & Young Oy has been selected as the Ordinary Auditors of EPV, with

  • Mikko Rytilahti (CA) and Tatu Huhtala (CA) as the main responsible Auditors
  • Ari Lehto (CA) and Kristian Berg (CA) as Vice Auditors


Maintaining the know-how of the EPV Energy Group’s personnel plays a key role in ensuring the continuous development of our operations.

The key tasks of our personnel:

  • Power procurement
  • Efficient management of power plant assets
  • Optimal network operations
  • Developing new business models

The targets of our personnel:

  • To create added value for the company’s shareholders by governing assets
  • To supervise the operational entities connected to assets
  • To develop personal know-how
  • To maintain a supportive work atmosphere

In 2016, the average number of EPV Energy Group employees was 70. At the end of the year

  • EPV Energy had 45 employees
  • EPV Alueverkko had 3 employees
  • Tornion Voima Oy had 22 employees
  • Of the Group’s total personnel, 53 are officials and 17 employees